Problem
Turning on Blackboard Ultra in your Original Courses
Environment
Blackboard Original Courses
Resolution
Faculty now have the option to enable Blackboard Ultra in their new courses. If you are ready to turn on Ultra, please follow the steps below. Important: this process cannot be reversed. If you need help with learning Ultra, please submit a ticket to the IT Service Desk.
1. Make sure your course is Unavailable to students by clicking on the padlock icon in the upper right corner of the course:

2. A pencil icon will appear in the upper right corner. Click on the pencil to turn on Ultra Course Preview.

3. Click on the button that says, Try the Ultra Course View.

4. The move to Ultra may take a minute to process. Once it is complete, you can preview your course in Ultra. To confirm you would like to stay in Ultra, click on Use the Ultra course in the lower right corner.

Important: Once you select the Ultra course, you can not revert it back to the Original course setup. If you decide that you are not ready for Ultra in this course, select Back to Original course. Any changes made in the Ultra Preview will not be saved if you revert back to Original. Blackboard recommends that you click on Use the Ultra course as soon as possible after turning on the preview.
Cause
Blackboard has made the decision to discontinue the Original course view effective December 30, 2026. USJ is beginning to migrate to Ultra now so that students and faculty are prepared for the new course views by Spring 2027.